HH Paint the town Silver

Friday 5th December saw the Hermitage Harriers Christmas Dinner and Annual Awards take place at The Royal Hotel in Ashby De La Zouch. Over 60 Harriers attended the event to enjoy a festive three course meal and to applaud the successes of the club and its members alike.

Most improved awards went to Tony Woodward and Judith Brand who have gone from strength to strength in 2014. At the start of the Autumn Judith completed a half marathon with a 16 minute PB which also put her in 6th position nationally for her age group. Tony has made rapid progress this year across varying distances and is now storming up the field at many events, often finishing inside the top three.

Mark Perry, the club’s coach, received a standing ovation from his fellow athletes as he collected the Club Recognition Award for his reinvigoration of structured training sessions on Tuesday evenings as well as his dedication to and continual hard work on behalf of the club.

Members of the club are invited to vote for their ‘Runner’s Runner’ prior to the annual event and this year four names were shortlisted; Mark Perry, Edward Quinn, Gavin McDermott and Katie Smith. On the night, the award was presented to a very shocked but delighted Katie Smith who said "I was really humbled to be nominated with some incredible people who have been an inspiration and support to me."

Other Harriers to scoop prizes included Matt Adcock who took home the Single Outstanding Achievement Award for his impressive marathon performance at Chester Marathon. Zoe Sewter claimed Season’s Best Female whilst Season’s Best Male went to Craig Hinds. Season’s Best Vet Runners went to Louise Mason and Shaun Coulton and the Chairman’s Choice Award was given to Paul Gregory for his long-standing commitment to the club and for setting up the club’s very successful cross country event.

There were also a number of prizes awarded for handicap table winners including: Edward Quinn, Gavin McDermott and James Willoughby in division three, Matthew Dumelow, Pete Armstrong and Simon Munson in division two and Craig Hinds, Matt AAdcock and Shaun Coulton for division one.